Early-Career Public Health Professional: Sasha McGee

In honor of Public Health Thank You Day we will be highlighting public health professionals throughout the day today.  Our first professional is Sasha McGee, Ph.D., M.P.H., epidemic intelligence service officer at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, assigned to the District of Columbia Department of Health.

SashaWhat drew you to a career in public health?

My earliest educational and research experiences were guided by my passion to pursue a career in which my work would contribute to the improvement of health. After completing my doctoral training, I knew that I did not just want to conduct research but to participate in the translation of data into interventions that would benefit large populations. The field of public health seemed to be the perfect choice in terms of having the opportunity to both investigate and address health challenges.

What do you enjoy most about your current position as an early career public health professional?

What I enjoy most about my current position is the opportunity to participate in projects on a wide range of topics — I am always learning something new and no day is ever the same. I also appreciate the collaborative nature of my work.

How do you hope to contribute to the field of public health in your career in the future?

I am excited by opportunities to use epidemiologic data as a problem-solving tool for public health challenges. However, I want my career to also focus on engaging and working with stakeholders to ensure that the data result in programs and policies that benefit the communities I serve.

She received a Masters in Public Health in epidemiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2012 and a doctorate in health sciences and technology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2008.

Leave a Reply

